Login Register

High fives for Emma as favourite breezes to victory

By West Briton  |  Posted: June 21, 2012

Comments (0)

RUNNERS in the Cornwall Grand Prix Road Race Series, supported by Cornwall Glass and Glazing, made their way to the wild and windy village of Sticker on Saturday evening, for the Sticker 5 mile road race, sponsored by Hewaswater Garage.

As expected Emma Stepto (Cornwall AC) was a clear winner of the Ladies' race, with surprise package Dan Rodgers (Launceston Road Runners) finishing strongly over the hilly final mile, to record his first ever Grand Prix victory in the Men's event.

The Men's race soon developed into a three way tussle, with Rodgers joined by the Cornwall AC runners Justin Thomas and Colin Snook.

Thomas pushed the pace for the first half of the race, with Rodgers and Snook content to follow.

Thomas won the battle against Snook, his Cornwall AC training partner, followed by Mile High's Tony Brewer (4th), again finishing in the leading positions, ahead of two more Cornwall AC runners, first veteran finisher Steve Wherry (5th) and triathlete Ceri Whitmore (6th).

With four runners in the top six, Cornwall AC's Men's team cruised to victory in the team competition.

St Austell Running Club, with their six scoring runners in the top 29 places, comfortably won the runners-up prize, with Newquay Road Runners in third place.

The seventh place finisher was another Cornwall AC runner, the leading lady Emma Stepto, who won her fourth GP race of the year, this time by over two and a half minutes, with Isobel Wykes (Truro Running Club) comfortably clear in second place.

There was a real scrap for third position with Revis Crowle (East Cornwall Harriers) leading Heidi Cottam (Cornwall AC) into the final field, before the younger Cornwall runner mounted a spirited sprint for the line, edging out her more experienced rival, with both runners sharing the same time.

The Ladies team competition was also won by Cornwall AC, with the club's winning team equally divided by the more experienced runners and the young pretenders.

Race winner Emma, together with Donna Raggett (7th) and Karen Harrison (10th) provided the experience, with Heidi Cottam (3rd), Jenny Almey (8th) and the Under 20 winner Elisha Hurst (19th) providing the element of youth.

Hayle Runners packed well, finishing second, 32 points behind Cornwall, with an under strength Newquay Road Runners team a distant third.

Hayle Runners were again out in force with 57 members competing.

Jordan Morant continued his fantastic form by leading the team home in a time of 29.40 minutes, closely followed by Russell Turner.

The Hayle men's team were fourth overall and Jordan and Russell were supported by Scott Abraham, Richard Mayes, Matt Curtis and Simon Timms.

The club's female team had an even better result, coming second behind Cornwall AC.

Debbie Harrison was first woman home, followed by Fiona Ruetsch, Charlotte Bennett, Faye Toms, Lisa Maskell and Helen Rule.

There was string of individual trophies for the club. Lia Foreman was third woman under 20, Charlotte Bennett and Faye Toms first and second respectively in the 35-39 years age group, Debbie Harrison second female 40-44, Fiona Ruetsch second 45-49, Ann Senior second 55-59, Timothea Cardell first over 70.

For the men, Scott Abraham was third 40-44, Stewart Townend second 65-69 and Howard Haynes first over 75.

Hayle Women's captain Faye Toms said: "We had some really good results throughout the field with many of our runners achieving personal best for the course and others running for the first time.

"It was great to have such a good turnout and the team is in good spirits for the races in the next few weeks."

Full race results, page 82.

Read more from The Cornishman

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters