Login Register

Sporting stars step into the limelight

By The Cornishman  |  Posted: January 24, 2013

Comments (0)

SCILLY is this weekend making its first stab at a glitzy dinner-jacketed awards night.

Up for grabs, via votes on the night, are the accolades of Young Sports Personality, Best Contribution to Sport, Coach of the Sporting Year, Best Sports Achievement and a Lifetime Sports Award, involving past and present islanders.

The winners will be chosen by the audience on Saturday night at St Mary's Hall Hotel.

Beth Thomas, Harry Stone, Zoe Hitchens, Lewis Johnson and Rory Guy were named finalists in the Young Sports Personality of 2012 section (for the Nathan Woodcock Award). Other nominees were Liam Kirkby, Corey Graham, Ethan Badcock, Dan Evans and Steven Thomas.

The three finalists in the Best Contribution section (the Radio Scilly Award) were Andrew Hicks (senior/junior football), Duncan Graham (football and judo) and Sarah Handy (junior football). Others nominated were Derek Metcalfe (golf) and Tom and Jacky Grey (judo).

Three finalists in the 2012 Coach of the Year (The Alan Greenlaw Award) were Rachel Keeley (netball), Ralph Handy (junior football) and Andrew King (junior rowing). Other nominees were Dave Stone (judo/football) and Andrew Hicks (junior football).

The John Williams/Wayne Davey trans-US bike ride earned them a final spot in the Best 2012 Achievement category, with Kylie Carter and Sarah Twynham (John o' Groats-Land's End bike ride) and the Women's World Pilot Gig Championship runners-up crew.

Nominees for the Lifetime's Achievement include the late Rodney Ward, Alan Ball and Alan Greenlaw, and Bill Pender, Roger Williams, Kevin Sherris, Bill Hasler, Diane Edwards, Grant Tucker and Ben Kirk. Mark Twynham will be compère with Martyn Songhurst and Jim Johnson.

Read more from The Cornishman

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters