Login Register


By The Cornishman  |  Posted: February 28, 2013

GW Werrell

Comments (0)

Gwendoline Beryl Werrell, Goldsithney

A SERVICE of thanksgiving for the late Gwendoline Beryl Werrell has taken place at Gulval Parish Church.

The service was conducted by the Reverend Tim Hawkins and the hymns Praise My Soul, The King Of Heaven, Lead Us Heavenly Father and Angel Voices Ever Singing were accompanied by organist Mr Derek Slade.

Gwen died suddenly on October 26, 2012, at the age of 81.

Gwen was born on February 20, 1931, in Marlborough, Devon, the second daughter of Albert and Mary Dawe, and sister of Marjorie and Ivor.

Following several moves around the country as her father was a coastguard, they settled in Penzance.

She met her husband-to-be, Godfrey, in the church choir at Gulval. He worked for the Post Office and Gwen was a secretary at the Town Clerk's Office in Penzance.

They married on April 2, 1956, at Gulval Church and set up home in the village.

On the October 6, 1965, they moved to Goldsithney to become landlord and landlady of the Trevelyan Arms, which was a thriving, happy and welcoming meeting place until their retirement 20 years later.

Both Godfrey and Gwen were very respected within the community and tirelessly supported many charitable events including Macmillan Cancer Care and many others.

Following Godfrey's death in July 2000, Gwen carried on with helping out at Meals on Wheels, the Charter Fair and numerous events at the village hall.

She was a long-serving member of the CAMEO (Come and Meet Each Other) group which met every fortnight at Goldsithney Methodist Church.

Gwen was also a Christmas lights' committee member and hosted the women's section at her home each year, when they would spend the evening wrapping presents for all the village children to be loaded on Santa's sleigh and distributed to the youngsters on the village green on Christmas Eve.

Gwen had high regard for everyone she met as they did for her. Nothing was ever too much trouble as she was a caring, generous and memorable lady and she will be sorely missed by her many friends, neighbours and family.

But most of all our Auntie Gwen loved her family, especially her nephews and nieces and their families that followed.

God bless you, Auntie Gwen, you will be greatly missed by us all.

Family and friends attending: Roger, Ann, Holly, Jenna and Grace Gilbert, Andrea Gilbert and Peter Gregory, Thelma Hewson, Carolyn and John Roberts; Natalie Roberts, rep Phil, Darcey and Casper Morris; Hannah Barker, rep Christopher and Emilia Barker; Pamela Verran, Joanna, Sid, Holly and Robin Richards; Jonathan Verran, rep Madison Verran; Tracey Spry and Lauren Stuart, rep Jade Verran; Rachael, Simeon and Thomas Royle, rep Harry and Lily Royle; Shirley and Roger Hartley-Booth, rep Lynne Morris and Tamsin Williams and family; Christine Richards, cousin; Mrs Pat Kelly, cousin, rep family.

Family members unable to attend: Paul Dawe and Phillip and Jean Dawe and family, Janice and Shaun McClean.

Friends attending: Mr and Mrs George Melio, Linda Williams, Dave Tooley; Hedley Nicholls, rep Maralyn Baker; Joe Davey, rep the Davey family; Mr and Mrs C Matthews, Ann and Peter Caswell; Charles and Suzette Bryant, rep Brigitte and W and A Brewer; Barbara Smith, rep Claude Smith; Mr and Mrs D Hayman, rep Kirstie Godwin; Sarah and Martin Smits; Mrs Maureen Roch, rep Mr and Mrs R Skewes and the Cameo group, Goldsithney Chapel; Mary and Peter Horder, David and Fran Phillips; Julie and Phil Goninan, rep Mrs Mary Renfree; Ann Tyzzer, Marjorie Pascoe, rep Perranuthnoe & District WI; Keith and Nina Hodkinson, Diana Morse, Mr and Mrs P Bosence; Alfred and Susan Brown, rep Jill Allen and David Ball; Mrs E Hollow, Mrs N Blewett, June and Colin Bryant; Mrs H Hockin, rep the Cameo group; Mr and Mrs Bill Jones, rep Mr N Batten and Mrs Elaine Harris; John Burrow, rep Audrey Burrow; Peter Butterfield, Kay and Gareth Griffiths; Mr RS Harvey, rep Mrs D Harvey; Mr and Mrs P Spry; Mrs Mary Holland, rep Peter Holland; Mr Andy Thomas, rep Sue Thomas; Mr and Mrs Roy Trevennen, rep family; Mr and Mrs Andrew Keirl, rep Mrs Andrea Rego; Ivor Phillips, Godfrey Matthews; Mr R Brierly, rep Mrs Marlene Wade; Janet and Tony Woolcott, Marian Curnow, Shann Rodgers, Aggi Westley; Dorcas Jellis , rep David and Rosilyn Howard; Des Hosken; Bill Burnett, rep Hilda Burnett; Val Godwin, Kathleen and Jack Trewhella, D and V Illingworth, Mr and Mrs Jeff Friggens; Mrs R Delaney, rep Mr B Delaney and Mrs Enid Smith; Mr and Mrs C Hitchens, rep the St Piran's Hall Committee, Mr Peter Evans and Mr and Mrs David Somers; Mr and Mrs John Jago, rep J Harvey, Mr and Mrs J Uren, Mr and Mrs M Wright and Mr and Mrs B Jago; Mrs P Smart, rep Tristan, Joanne and Timothy, Mr G Varker, Mr and Mrs R Varker, Mr and Mrs H King and Mrs H Reynolds; Margaret Lawrey, rep Bernard Lawrey and family, Beryl and Arthur Harvey, in South Wales, and Enid and Russell Jory; Mr and Mrs RG Fox, rep Mrs J Prince, Mr and Mrs T Payne, Mr and Mrs L Polglase, Mr J Seabrook and Goldsithney Cricket Club; Mrs Margaret Friggens, rep Mrs Val Hills, Mrs Joan Matthews and Kath Matthews; Mr Roy Matthews, rep family and Mrs G Rashleigh; Mr and Mrs J DeVries, rep Saskia and Anna and Miss P McCrea; Mr and Mrs D Harris; Mr John Tyzzer, rep Trewinnard Lodge; Mrs Sheila Tregenza, rep David Tregenza; Norma Mau, rep Charles May and Desmond Curtis; Stella Sampson; Mrs Sandra Roynon, rep Mr Dick Roynon; Mrs Peggy Gilbert; Mr and Mrs DJ and ML Tregoning-Matthews, rep Mrs J Marks and Miss E Rowe; Mrs Lil Williams, Mr and Mrs Neil Hitchens; Mr Roger Bettens, rep Roger and Jean Salter; Ernie Stevens, Mrs D Nicholas, Elsie Ash; Mr and Mrs Iain and Tracey Stephan, rep Lee Godwin; Master Jacques Stephan; Mr Ken Wood, rep Mrs Heather Wood, Mr and Mrs Dennis Curnow; Mr R Nancarrow, rep Mr D Nancarrow and Mrs C Bottrell; Mr Chris Spry; Mr and Mrs M Kitchen, rep Mrs GM Kitchen; Mr and Mrs CB Bryant; Mr and Mrs Joe and Jill Clive, Christine Weschke, Alison Ross, Max and Sue Gibson; Mrs Lorna Packer, rep Mrs K Davies; Mrs Helen McGraa, Mr Brian Broad, Mr Peter Pentreath, Mr and Mrs R Rosewall, Mr and Mrs Marj and Don Jenkin, Mr and Mrs M Polley, rep Mr and Mrs E Polley; Mr George Stone, rep Mrs M Stone; Mr David Gregory, Mrs Dora Laity; Mr Peter Sandford, rep Marazion Apollo Choir; Mr Graham Mitchell, rep Viv Flinn; Mr John Tilly, rep Mary Tilly; Linda Timms, rep Hugh and Janet Shirley; Mr and Mrs Jean and Mike Berris, Mr and Mrs Derek and Elizabeth Moore, Mr and Mrs John and Shirley Parker.

Read more from The Cornishman

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters