Login Register

Football: Penzance stalwarts step down

By The Cornishman  |  Posted: July 18, 2013

Comments (0)

TWO long-serving stalwarts of Penzance Association Football Club have both signed off from their respective positions after clocking up almost 100 years of dedicated service between them.

Penzance secretary John Mead, who was recently presented with his 50 years' long service award from the Football Association gave his final report to club members at last Friday's AGM, in which he announced that the Magpies had become one of only 10 clubs county-wide and only 460 across the country to have successfully achieved Charter Standard Community Club status.

Mead will continue with his groundsman's duties at Penlee Park, but has relinquished the secretary's role which is to be taken on by long-time club supporter Steve Larter, with Paul Smith providing additional administrative support for the reserve team.

John Richards also confirmed his retirement at the annual meeting after 49 years serving the club in a variety of roles including player, Magpies Club secretary, youth team manager, vice-chairman and more recent years as chairman, with former reserve team manager Terry Burgess being elected as his successor.

In a detailed report, the outgoing chairman thanked everybody involved with the club for their efforts over the course of a difficult year which had seen both the club's senior teams relegated from their respective divisions. Despite a somewhat turbulent campaign, he spoke of positive progress being made on and off the field, with plans for new changing rooms and clubhouse facilities ongoing and first team manager John Dent having already secured a number of summer signings to strengthen the playing ranks at the club as they look to rebuild in Division One West of the South West Peninsula League.

Pre-season training is well under way, taking place at Mounts Bay Academy at 7pm on Tuesday evenings. Any players interested in joining the club are welcome to contact John Dent 07827 779 333 or secretary Steve Larter 07817 987 165 for details.

Officers elected: President: Peter George; Chairman: Terry Burgess; Vice-Chairman: Andy England; Treasurer: Charlie Farley; Secretary: Steve Larter. General Committee: Tony Best, Kevin Hall, Dean Mooney, Paul Smith, Michele Smith, Peter Southcott, James Street and Paul Williams.

The Carlsberg South West Peninsula League have confirmed that next season's golden boot award will be known as the 'Freebets Golden Boot' after agreeing a deal with online betting service www.freebets.co.uk.

Peninsula League officials are delighted to have reached an agreement with the Cardiff-based firm and they now hope to attract a new sponsor for the league's sportsmanship awards.

Pendeen Rovers have announced that former boss Andre Peters has agreed to come back on board and offer experience and support to interim manager Andrew House and Redruth-based Mark Mitchell, who recently joined the club's backroom staff as assistant manager.

Club secretary Crystal Hood said: "Matt comes with a solid footballing background and good recommendations. We as a club look forward to working with him."

New Mousehole bosses Wayne Quinn and Matt Shiels take charge for the first time tonight when the Seagulls host one of Quinn's former club's Falmouth Town in their opening pre-season friendly at Trungle Parc (7pm).

Trelawny League AGM, page 83.

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters