Login Register

Cowan-Dickie's delight at Premiership debut

By The Cornishman  |  Posted: February 13, 2014

Comments (0)

FORMER Cornish Pirates youth product Luke Cowan-Dickie made his Aviva Premiership debut on Saturday as a replacement in Exeter's 17-16 home defeat by Northampton Saints.

He was a late call-up to the side after the team run on Friday, when Chris Whitehead pulled out with an injury in his neck/shoulder area.

And the former England under-20s ace was delighted to make his league bow for the Chiefs at Sandy Park.

He said: "It's a shame Chris had to pull out because of problems, but I was excited to get my Premiership debut.

"When I was first told I started gearing up. I was already a travelling reserve so I knew I there was a chance I could be playing and it was a great experience."

Cowan-Dickie replaced Jack Yeandle with 19 minutes left of the contest and was part of a pack under pressure in the scrums in the closing stages.

While they managed to prevent Northampton's pack driving over the line from a scrum, they did concede a couple of penalties and referee Greg Garner warned them that he was considering awarding a penalty try.

Cornishman Cowan-Dickie was pleased with his own contribution.

"The conditions were tough, the pitch was quite heavy," he said.

"I wouldn't have minded if my Premiership debut had been on a nice hot day, but it was quite windy.

"I only had one line-out, which I hit, so I was happy with how it went."

Cowan-Dickie has been confirmed as one of the 10 nominees for the 2014 LV= Breakthrough Player Award, won by his close friend and Exeter Chiefs team-mate Jack Nowell last year.

Fans have until March 10 to cast their vote for this year's award at www.LV.com/rugby. The 2014 LV= Breakthrough Player Award winner will be announced prior to the LV=Cup Final at Sandy Park, Exeter on March 16 and LV= will donate £1,000 to a grassroots rugby initiative of the winner's choice.

2013/14 LV= Breakthrough Player nominees: Round 1: Jonah Holmes (London Wasps) and Harry Thacker (Leicester Tigers); Round 2: Sam Jones (London Wasps) and Ben Ransom (Saracens); Round 3: Zach Kibirige (Newcastle Falcons) and Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs); Round 4: Dan Barker (Ospreys) and Owen Williams (Cardiff Blues); Wildcard nominees: Ollie Devoto (Bath) and Matt Hankin (Saracens).

Read more from The Cornishman

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters